Um, I Forgot

This is not the post I planned to write today.

Unfortunately, there’s no way I can focus enough to write on the topic I had planned.

Baby Brain has me completely defeated this week.

This is a real thing. I’m not 100 percent certain what causes it (I’m not a medical professional, after all, and even if I were, I wouldn’t be able to stand by my expertise in this condition anyway). I think it has to do with blood flow being diverted from the brain, both to supply the baby and because she and my uterus are teaming up to squish my blood vessels. Regardless, I’m enjoying frequent head rushes and a complete inability to remember the simplest things.

A few (somewhat embarrassing) examples:

* A few days ago, I ran outside to start my car and let it warm up before work. I came back inside and spent the next five minutes desperately searching for my keys — the ones I’d just put in the ignition.

* Today, I headed to the building next door to my office for a meeting. I was in the elevator before I realized I’d left the cookies for the holiday exchange in my office, so I ran back to get them. When I returned, I got back in the elevator, only to go to the wrong floor. After walking back downstairs to the meeting, I dropped off my stuff and promptly remembered that I’d needed to use the restroom for the past 15 minutes. So, I did my business and again headed into the meeting — only to realize that my BeBand was bunched around my waist under my dress. Back to the restroom, back to the meeting. Yes, people did watch me do this to-and-fro dance a half-dozen times. Yes, I did feel like an idiot.

* With the end of the meeting came the end of the work day. As I gathered my belongings to head home and started thinking about my family’s dinner, it occurred to me that I planned to heat up a freezer meal tonight. Only the meal is still frozen solid, in the freezer, because I completely forgot to thaw it this morning.

I know my brain is trying to function. This morning, when I woke up, I had this extreme desire to go back to bed, not because I was tired, but because I had been in the middle of the dream. Though I couldn’t remember any details of the dream, I knew it wasn’t finished and I really, really wanted to go back and see it to the end. I’m pretty sure that was my subconscious trying to get my thoughts in order … and again failing.

I don’t know how I’m supposed to get through three more months of this blatant idiocy … but I guess it doesn’t matter too much. By the time it’s over, I’ll probably have forgotten it ever happened.

One thought on “Um, I Forgot

Leave a Reply

